Email click-through charge (CTR) | Twilio SendGrid

bring receiver to it open your email is the first step towards engagement. Once they’ve done that, you need to encourage them to take the action you want, such as: B. to register for an event or to make a purchase. So how do you know if your email is hitting that goal? One of the most helpful metrics is your email click-through rate (CTR).

Your campaign goals like conversions or lead generation determine which ones Email Metrics to concentrate. However, CTR is a valuable metric for every Type of campaign as it helps you understand if your email content is engaging readers.

Let’s dive into what CTR is, how to calculate it and how to improve it.

What is an email CTR?

An email’s CTR refers to the percentage of clicks (or taps) on links in your email, based on all your successfully delivered emails – meaning it doesn’t count undeliverable emails.

Most email campaigns aim to lure recipients with valuable content and ultimately get them to take action. To that end, CTR helps you understand the quality and relevance of your content by measuring clicks on your calls-to-action (CTA).

You may be wondering what is a good click-through rate for email? The answer varies by industry (from 1% in retail to 6% in government and politics), but the average The cross-industry CTR is 2.6%. So don’t worry if your CTR is in the single digits! This is standard for every industry.

Among other things, it is important to monitor your CTR valuable metricsto measure how recipients are responding to your communications and to understand how to optimize your campaigns.

How to calculate the CTR of an email

Your email service provider will most likely include the CTR in your data insights. However, if you want to know how to calculate email click-through rate yourself, the formula is simple:

(number of recipients who clicked ÷ number of emails delivered) x 100 = CTR

For example, if you deliver an email to 5,000 recipients and 150 recipients click a link in the email, the formula would look like this:

(150 ÷ ​​5,000) x 100 = 3

The click rate is 3%.

How to improve the CTR of an email

Many factors can affect clicks, from email design to CTA wording. Here are a few tactics you can use to improve your email CTR.

1. Send relevant, engaging content

Content is one of the most important elements of your email. Recipients sign up for it, so you need to make sure it gets delivered.

Tailor email content to target audience – you don’t want recipients to wonder why they received an email from you. for Confirmation emails and other transactions, this is straightforward. An order number and purchase details are usually sufficient. However, when it comes to newsletters or promotions, you can ensure relevance by segmenting your audience based on interests.

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Some others Content tips Things to consider to increase CTR are:

  • Captivate the reader with a catchy or intriguing introduction.
  • Deliver the promise of reference (e.g. a discount or an interesting message) as soon as possible.
  • Since then, keep your content short and sweet most recipients (55%) only want to get a few lines from senders anyway.
  • Use images (like GIFs, etc.) to make content more engaging without additional text—but don’t overdo it.
  • Be sure to proofread your content. Recipients quickly spot mistakes that can undermine trust in your brand.

2. Use responsive email design

Today, 85% of recipients Use smartphones to access their email. So if your emails are only accessible on desktop, you’re likely losing clicks from recipients reading them on mobile devices. Because of this, responsive design has become the norm for marketers.

Responsive design adapts the email template to the device on which the recipient is reading it. This ensures that the email is displayed correctly regardless of the device by adjusting the width of the email, text size and image size as needed. As a result, recipients can easily read your email and click on any links that interest them, improving your CTR.

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Among the things you can do Optimize emails for mobile devices, one of the most important is to start with a responsive email template. Check out the Twilio SendGrid library for inspiration free responsive templates for any type of email campaign.

3. Add a compelling CTA

When it comes to email CTR, the proof is in the click. So, the tactics in this post won’t help your CTR if users can’t easily find the CTA link or don’t know where it takes them. Here are some best practices for CTAs:

  • Avoid rambling phrases like “click here” that make the recipient wonder where they’ll end up when they click. Instead, use specific, concise phrases like “read more,” “donate here,” or “shop now.”
  • Use a contrasting color for your CTA buttons to ensure the buttons stand out to recipients when they scan the email.
  • Test placing your CTA (if you only have one) in multiple places in your email to increase the chance of clicks. For example, you can insert an inline link in the body text, and then add a CTA button below the text block.

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4. Find the ideal timing and frequency

The day of the week and the time you send your email can affect the open rate and click-through rate. However, there is no one time window that works for all industries and types of email.

How to find the best airtime your Receiver, do a A / B test to find out on which days and times the CTR is highest. You can start with a few recommended broadcast times (Tuesdays at 7am or 11am usually get good results), but ultimately your data will show what works best for your campaign.

Another important factor is the frequency of your emails. You might think that more emails mean more clicks, but that’s usually not the case. Too many emails can lead to one high unsubscribe rate. So avoid Email Fatigue by finding the right balance of staying in touch with your recipients and giving them some space.

A good way to ensure you’re sending recipients the right amount of email is to simply ask them their preference. When new subscribers sign up for your email list, give them the option to choose their ideal frequency: daily, weekly, monthly, etc. You can also test reintegration campaigns and Email Preference Centers to ensure you only send emails to engaged recipients – after all, they are the most likely to click.

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Increase CTR and other email marketing metrics with Twilio SendGrid

The right tools can make optimizing your email campaigns a lot easier. Twilio SendGrid offers just that: free Newsletter and sale Email templates, deep data insights, and API reference documentation. We can help you implement your email program and improve your CTR and other key performance indicators. Why don’t you try us? Sign up for free to get started.

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